Importing Cars To Japan

*LOACH*

Set phasers to flame, actually please dont hurt me.

Has anyone ever looked into importing a car into Japan? Try as I can I cant really find anything I want as much as a VL wagz and when combined with a head, gearbox and interior from an R33 GTST it would be a pretty cool car and unlike anything else here. Also what about modifying cars legally in Japan? Is there any references or anything I can look at that will give me an idea of what can and cant be done.

In all my 11 years worth of traveling to and around japan, i have never seen a commodore... i wouldnt bother importing an australian made car, nearly every car over in nippon would munch any australian car in qaulity, if i was you i would go there buy a parking permit if you do not already have one and buy a nice R34 GTT or evo

I saw a VZ ute not long ago and I live in a relatively small city. There is a website which imports new Holdens and sells new and used ones (3 000 000 Yen for a second hand auto ute is pretty expensive though). Besides I need a wagon which I can work on myself (mechanics are really expensive here), has RWD (not AWD) and a snail. Plus I really like the VL wagon- perfect size for me, great choice of bits from newer models, massive amount of info on the net about them and with an Aero kit they look good.

I'm sure it's possible. Maybe talk to some of the places that import a lot of LHD euro and american cars (plenty of those in jp). they should know the japanese law surrounding imports and can probably tell you how to go about it, or recommend some kind of broker/agent to do it for you.

Thanks Beer Baron, I know what you mean about imports here too, through my window I can see 4 1980s Citreons (a workshop specialises in them) and a big Chevy wagon, down the street is a Camaro and in town there are countless big American 4x4s and vans. Not bad for a city so small its sister city is Shepparton in Victoria.

Not to say there arent any local machines of note, check out this weapon :stupid:

post-53059-1265863379_thumb.jpg

Edited by *LOACH*

Funny enough, I just saw one yesterday parked in Omotesando - a black late model ute. Probably the 3rd one Ive seen so far in the 5 years Ive been here. There was one also for sale at Super Autobacs and a mate says the guys at the Australian Embassy here own them as well.

But please dont add anymore here because its embarressing. Kinda like when I see fat gaijin girls in a crowd of nice Japanese girl... :P

Edited by N/A®

Just as "Maru" means 'circle' from the context of a circular moat that protects a castle...

"Maloo" can be taught to the Japanese as meaning 'thunder' (as it is in the Aust Aboriginal language)

More Marketable Utes?

"I have seen one" - Armageddon.

mm fat gaijin girls, many chubbies in JP out of interest?

Not many when compared to back home and even if they are, chances are that they look pretty decent. 8 out of 10 make an effort and take care of their appearance here versus 2 out of 10 back home :(

Now for something completely different (its ok to hijack my own thread isn't it?)

Can anyone tell me why they think this GTR look like such a bargain, I imagine it has been resprayed, so maybe its been in an accident but it looks reasonably clean and stock

http://www.carsensor.net/usedcar/detail/CU...4709/index.html

and its in my prefecture, and surely its a 2 door VL prototype that Holden never made?? :ermm: kidding ...I am just interested to see why its going for so cheap when it has almost two years shaken left

I imported my car into Japan by a mob called J-Spec

Probably a bit unusual you might think when I imported it to Australia in the first place ( Stock Standard grade 5)

Upgraded the car, could not sell it in Australia now I use it heaps here at the local track .

Best thing I ever did . To replicate this car here would cost a bundle ( more than Australia)

All Japanese parts anyway apart from Motec computer.

post-31013-1269002631_thumb.jpg