SAU Community

Intake Query

Hey,

A this could be a pretty stupid intake question. I'm thinking of a CAI to replace the stock snorkel and then I got thinking, now I am in two minds when it comes to the diametre. I am not an engineer or auto mechanic but have a general understanding of fluid mechanics.

Bernoulli's theorem tells me that a smaller intake would mean the air would come through at a higher velocity maintain the required CFM wouldn't this in turn make the turbo spool quicker and improve response?

I understand if you have it dramatically smaller than that your IC piping you're increasing the risk of compressor surge (where the pressure in the IC hosing is higher than that before the turbo in the intake and the air attempts to go back out the intake).

But what is the advantage/reason of having an intake larger than that of your IC piping wouldn't it be better to have it just slightly smaller?

to be honest, with my cai and heatsheild, bigger the better for intake.

I see the point you make, but it was my understanding that your not trying to make it blast air into the turbo, which to be honest I can't see being much up until atleast 100kms/h at which point you legally cannot go much faster on our roads, as the turbo definitely has enough suction/boost to do that on its own. you are simply allowing the turbo to not suck in hot air from the engine bay, which can cause quite a large drop of response/power and instead have some nice <45degree air from outside, inwhich case, the more the merrier.

post-36975-1273849070_thumb.jpg post-36975-1273849098_thumb.jpg post-36975-1273849368_thumb.jpg

to be honest, with my cai and heatsheild, bigger the better for intake.