SAU Community

Living In Japan

xALmoN

How do I get to live in the great Nihon!?

I am asian.

I speak fairly alright English.

I know close to no Japanese, what kind of training do I have to go through to be an English teacher there? I'm a chemical engineer by training though. Diploma holder, and pursuing my degree at RMIT now.

You need a degree nowdays to teach in Japan and get a visa.

If your 30 and under from Jan 1st 2010 if you are an Australian National you can get a working holiday visa for 1 year and can extend that for 6 more months.

Or you can do the visa run game...3months in, quick trip somewhere and back again but be warned its always a gamble coming back in and if you get black listed you wont get in again for quite awhile and if you do immigration and customs will put you through the ringer. Trust me, I did it for almost 5 years.

Best bet, finish your degree then go have a suss and see how you like it. Once you have your paper, getting an english teaching job is easy as.

You might not have a lot of luck not being a native speaker if you want to teach English. Jobs are really hard to come by at the moment, I was looking for somewhere different to work at the start of the school year (when most jobs are advertised/filled) and only got one job offer even though I applied for many, have a years experience in Eikaiwa, speak a bit of Japanese, have a long visa and am a native speaker. Another guy I know applied for a job and there were 4000 applicants, admittedly it was for a great job but still it gives you an idea of the competition there is nowadays with the economy being so bad in Japan.

• 2 weeks later...

yes but not being a native english speaker is the problem. it's not your japanese they are interested in. they will always choose a native english speaker over you which unfortunately something you can't ever change.

You could always study English for the next 3 years LOL