SAU Community

Requirement For Track Races

Skyline_shaq

Hi Guys!!

Im relatively very very new to the scene in Sydney and in Australia in general. Ive got a R33 GTST which i intend to work on and use for 1/4mile drags and possibly drifting later on.

At the moment it is stock standard (i know very rare to find one) and i intend to do mods starting from the basics like exhausts and to more intense stuff like front mounts bigger turbos and etccc.

My question is how can i build a car and use it on the tracks? i understand we wont be able to get any form of certification to drive it to the race track???

What all do i need to do here to get into the scene? do i have to be a member somewhere, pay extra rego?, always tow the car on a trailer?? how about drive days? how do i use the car if i wish to drive it on cruises?

Greatly appreciate if someone can get me started here.

Cheers,

Shaq

post-97349-0-17161900-1345769743_thumb.jpg

Hi Shakil,

You are best to start by joining a club like SAU NSW, there are details in this thread: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/topic/365434-s-a-u-n-s-w-club-membership-faq/

From there, you have a range of options depending on budget, time and enthusiasm

Entry level / club events: You would need either nothing, or just very basic safety gear like a fire extinguisher. In addition to the entry fee, some events require one of various licenses which you just pay for. This could include drag days, skidpans, drift days, supersprints like world time attack, motorkhanas etc etc. Most are very friendly events with a little competition between entrants, but nothing too serious.