SAU Community

Dan's R33 Build

Hey Guys, 

What is going on?

Newbie here, check out my post on the Newbie Introductions page. 

So guys I am building this r33 I bought site unseen off the interwebs. The guy told me it has an issue starting amongst other issues.

I will be posting regular updates on here and also posting videos on YouTube of my build progress. 

The first issue I will be tackling is the starting issue, I think it may be electrical or fuel related. 

what do you think the issue could be. Post your comments below. 

Talk soon all

• 4 weeks later...

Hey Guys, 

Update battery is all charged but having an issue turning it over. It cranks but wont turn over. Got it to turn over Twice but any acceleration and it will die.

I suspect dud battery or alternator.  

Uploaded a video for you guys!

Thoughts?

Videos not working for me.

Your terminology is confusing.typically cranking and turning over mean the same thing. 

You mean it's not starting?but the engine turns over when cranking?or is the engine locked up.? It won't be the alternator, thy does nothing except for charge the batery

Hey, not sure why the videos aren't working. I'll post on YouTube too. Yeah not starting just keeps cranking but wont start. engine is not locked up. thought it may be battery so installed a new one. would start but very lumpy then cut out.

Tried again, started lumpy revved to 4000rpm saw oil pressure gauge on dash rise and battery light on dash turn off. Stalled at 1000rpm

Battery light is lit on dashboard, pointing me to alternator. 

Will try and put a multimeter on the alternator and battery and check. Hopefully it will stay alive long enough. 

Any help would be great. 

Update. Spoke with the guys at Sabbadin, from the symptoms he said it doesn't sounds like bad alternator but possibly a starving issue maybe bad fuel or something. Anyone thinking of anything else?