21 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

yeah I think 3 times to TO would be enough.

I reckon after this months steak expedition we do Jap next. Teppanyaki :) or, would could try the new branch of Makoto. For those that don't know Makoto is like an upmarket version of sushi train. it's on liverpool st in the city but they've now opened in chatswoo. I am partial to teppanyaki though...

is makoto a japanese restaurant which serves sushi as well.?

cos a guy who owns/used to own? sushi train chatswood, burwood?, castlehill?

has a restaurant in the city.

hmm actually maybe it was closer to chinatown

• Replies 142

Makoto is basically an upmarket Sushi Train. Much nicer decor, more gourmet sushi offerings, etc... Very nice, but quite expensive (worth it IMHO, but then again I always think good food is worth the asking price ;) Life's too short to eat bad food ;))

Kinda like Toko on Oxford St. A classy sushi train.

Makoto is basically an upmarket Sushi Train. Much nicer decor, more gourmet sushi offerings, etc... Very nice, but quite expensive (worth it IMHO, but then again I always think good food is worth the asking price :( Life's too short to eat bad food :D)

Kinda like Toko on Oxford St. A classy sushi train.

i'm yet to got to a japanese restaurant of ne kind.

:kick: :rant: :headshot: :bonk: :slap:

bar sushi train parra when dad used to own it. bad decisions made by him, he finally got rid of it but still in a legal mess with sushi train.

R&R is a better feed, but its loud and cramped

lanecove has better service but the steak is average.

well put. that being the case, I still say we follow the chronic steak to manly :(:cheers:

I dont understand why Japanese dinners aren't on the agenda more often. I think I've had Jap with SAU'ers once and that was not a regular monthly dinner. We all love Japanese right?

That being said I propose to boycott steak (even though I already voted for LCSH) and say Merli's Makato suggestion is "the win". Or any other Japanese place anywhere (with parking)... I'd suggest Sushi Suma in Surry Hills if it had decent parking and wasnt 125% full every night.

and say Merli's Makato suggestion is "the win". Or any other Japanese place anywhere (with parking)... I'd suggest Sushi Suma in Surry Hills if it had decent parking and wasnt 125% full every night.

oi! don't pinch my kudos! Makoto was my idea!!! :cheers:

how's it going mate?

There was a Tepanyaki late last year. But anyway... blah blah blah.

The fact is that parking in Manly is shit. Anyone who says otherwise is dreaming and I'll fight yas all. The other fact is that the food is better quality there. But there is a poll with Lane Cove in front. Let the poll speak for the final call.

Of course there is still quite some time to go and by the time the dinner rocks around the poll could be 54 to 68 the other way round. It's a crazy mixed up world out there and you'd be mad not to arm yourself with a flame thrower no matter where you ended up going for dinner.

It's a crazy mixed up world out there and you'd be mad not to arm yourself with a flame thrower no matter where you ended up going for dinner.

never a truer word was spoken.

But there is a poll with Lane Cove in front.  Let the poll speak for the final call.

since when have we listened to the poll? The monlthly dinner venue discussions are the most enjoyable bit! ;)

there is a car park in manly, its only $4 after 6 and i think there would be heaps of parking. i was in manly last friday night and it was fine. Wasnt scared for the safty of the line, and was cheap.

So if u guys are worried bout not finding parking there will be heaps...

We have some space and a BBQ......but if we are going the bb option we had better not leave it too much later in the year, good weather is on the way out :)

druncan, these dinners have been getting progressively closer to your house. I'm onto you. I know you want it in your house so that when you get shitfaced you don't even have to walk home!

selfish bastard.

I wanna get shitfaced too... :O

Sewid - Although Im not going this months I think steak is predetermined winner from last months little poll.....

But yes....all up for jap NEXT months !!! :)  

Chatswood Makoto sounds GOOOOD !! :O

Fair enough really. If it was decided last month than I shall stop rocking the boat.

• Similar Content

• sold listed as a Tomei LSD 1.5 Way For 1998+ Nissan Skyline ER34 25GT RB25DE w/Open R200 https://www.ebay.com/itm/174006114594?campid=5338967980&mkevt=1&mkcid=1&toolid=10050&customid=&mkrid=711-53200-19255-0&loc_physical_ms=108689&loc_interest_ms=&campid=5338967980&mkevt=1&mkcid=1&toolid=10050&customid=71883f2ccc571356e0a757bc7adfdde2&mkrid=710-53481-19255-0&loc_physical_ms=108689&loc_interest_ms= it went in like butter all gears, alignment, back lash etc, rotation and clearances correct, and if rolling all rotates smooth and free when coasting down road , clutch in or out over 10 mph smooth... its the binding, clunking and jerking from a stop that is most concerning, also seems like its going to tear the tires off in 10 miles of normal road driving. 
    • What 1.5 way? There's no such thing really as a 1.5 way, just different ways of explaining 2 ways with different ramp rates. HOWEVER. In any driving in a straight line your 1.5 or 2 or 1.7 way should have no clunking at all. With the clutch fully depressed the diff should be silent (unless it's welded but I'm assuming it's not). Something aint right here.
    • Clutch is a spec brand, new clutch system,( PP, flywheel, friction disc, etc. pull type) installed 100 miles ago, with no problems.
    • looking for some help and maybe some insight on others experience with a new LSD. R34 GT ran and drove beautifully, but always alot of grip loss due to the open R200 rear end, so I just installed a new 1.5 LSD way into the stock open R200 for a ER34. Simple. Everything seemed right. I test drove for the first time this weekend. as I started to back out the garage the first time slowly with tires straight it sounded and felt like I had a loose or half disconnected drive shaft...that was clucking around loose and shaking entire vehicle, and making it feel like the trans clutch was spontaneously slipping then grabbing very roughly while just letting out pedal slowly. I backed it out went to pull forward with the same noise, shake and slip grab feeling with hesitation, I turned the tires to back out more and then pulled ahead some same thing but worst because of added wheel resistance (which that I expected) puzzled … pulling it back in checking everything over and finding nothing wrong, I tried it the next day. same thing, couldn’t believe how it shook everything again making a terrible noise and making it feel like the trans clutch was slipping and grabbing, but I got it out of garage into the driveway, got it straight, drove forward and then reveres a few times in a straight line everything shaking , causing what felt like clutch slip and grab every time, sounded like right behind front driver tire and I could feel it in the floor board with my feet,... worst right when beginning to let clutch pedal out to engage slightly, shuttering and sounding terrible along the way…I managed to slowly get down the road, babying it the whole way, once I was rolling (out of 1st) seemed to be better and between shifts, then clutch felt closer to normal…not slip/ grab etc., but back down to any stop, straight road or turning, same thing. Made no difference if all tires were straight or if I was turning. All other gauge read out correct. with in 2 miles as planned I reached the empty parking lot and performed the break in procedure that came with lsd, essentially to drive in a figure 8 a bunch.  Did this, binding chattering, and shaking the car the whole way. I drove it back home seemed somewhat normal once I was in straight line and past 10 mph or so, and I know it will “bind” on corners and cause some tires squeal when turning especially from a stop, but when I begin to move it still causes what feels like the trans clutch to slip and jerk badly as well as shaking the entire car, and sounds terrible, that I didn’t expect. I used the fluid they supplied with LSD kit and did the breaking, planning to change fluid as they suggest after breaking, but wondering will it get smoother or less aggressive with use? maybe a 1.5 is just too aggressive for normal road driving?   I have a LSD that I put in my 71 cuda when I restored it, with amazing smooth , quite yet effective results. Different style LSD but that ones a joy to drive. maybe expecting too much from this R200?
    • Join SAU NSW for a flame-grilled feed & flame-spitting cruise! Sunday 17th August 2025 3:30PM Meeting Archies Flame Grille Sylvania Waters 4:45PM Cruise Departure 5:15PM Arrival at Cape Solander Kurnell Meet Location: Archies Flame Grille Final Destination: Cape Solander Kurnell *Disclaimer* There will be a lead and follow car so no one should get lost. If you would like to attend or bring others along please put your name down and a +1 as numbers will be needed prior! This is NOT a race and we will all be adhering to all road rules. If this is what you want please come to one of our many track days. This is an official SAU:NSW event and will be run under a CAMS permit. One of the things that really sets our club apart is our commitment to being true enthusiasts. When on normal roads we strive to maintain good relations with the authorities as well as the public in general. When attending one of Skylines Australia NSW events please try to: • Be aware of surrounding environment and act accordingly. • Drive courteously on the state’s roads as a true enthusiast should. • Understand how important it is to maintain the good name of SAU NSW and thus, treat others accordingly. • Any misbehavior will not be tolerated and you will be asked to leave.