SAU Community

Diff query

maxr33

OK I'm fairly new to this mechanical knowledge thing but learning fast. I've got an R33 S2 GTS-T that had a few mods done in Rice land (HKS fmic, cusco suspension, pod, 3 1/2" Blitz Nur Spec cat back). The compliancer also told me it had an aftermarket diff. From talking to a few people it seems to have a locker in it. When turning slow at full lock I can feel a fairly gentle clicking/gripping throught the steering wheel and the tyres slip a bit against each other - hence a locker? The outside casing is stamped 351 which I believe is a pretty standard general driving gear set-up. Thing is I don't know that I really want the locker - not going for full on drag racing stuff, and would rather a standard LSD for driveability and to save my tyres. To go the LSD option do I need to replace the whole diff or just some of the internals as someone told me. What's the locker set up worth and what would a standard LSD set me back. I know the only real way to check is probably pull it all apart but I'm not too interested in doing that, but if anyone can give me a bit more info I'd appreciate it.

By the sounds of your desciption it is a locker; the clicking/gripping you hear is the back wheels skipping due to the difference in speed between the two arcs drawn by them. It is easier to replace the whole diff than the gearset.

Don't know what the locker is worth but i'd be willing to swap for my std LSD + cash :P

It sounds like a mechanical LSD, thus the clicking then the scuffing of the tyres. Either a Cusco, or Tomie is most likely.

To replace it would require remove the diff centre and fitting the stock LSD back in. The easiest way would be to reomive the complete diff, that way you wont need to "open" it, just straight swap.

I'd anticipate it to take an hour to remove and the same to fit.

If you were in WA I'd offer to swap yours for mine and I'd fit it for you. Drive-in, drive-out.