• Replies 105

Message at 12.30pm today from WRX Club entry guy:

As of this message I'm leaving *NOW*

If you need to know any information of want to enter give me a call on my mobile 0419 337 460

I did receive 2 entries today, can't remember who they are but call me if you have any concerns.

See you there.

Simon Walsh.

So if you still need to enter - you WILL HAVE to call his mobile.

See you all up there (or some of you this arvo).

Hope you all went well. Good times, no incidents and everyone driving home afterwards.

I miss Winton...

And for the record, as of this morning Snows and Paris were coming 3rd.

Relatively eventless day for all which is always good. Few small gremlins but will let those post if they want.

I had a lot of fun and while consistent in times, was consistently crap but was good to be out with the other Evo's for looking at lines etc.

Jack and Newton are crazy.

Cam, good to meet you and hope you enjoyed the day. Look forward to seeing you at the next meet/Sandown/DECA.

Cheers Budge, any exciting footage from yesterday???

I forgot to charge the battery for the camera so no footage from me... :P

Cheers Budge, any exciting footage from yesterday???

I forgot to charge the battery for the camera so no footage from me... :)

Yep, the camera's always rolling mate!

http://www.wrx.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=42964

:laugh:

For my first event with SAU i had an awesome time. Was great to actually meet many of the people who until now have been just avatars to me on this forum!

Special thanks to Brisby for helping me get my tires squealing around the track!

Hopefully see many of you at the next round and/or if i can make it to deca.

Also does anyone know who the dude was taking heaps of photos with the mega lensed camera? He may not of taken any photos of the DT group anyway but i would be interested to find out if he did.

Thanks to the flaggies and officials. Was a good day, well done to everyone, some very quick times! Thanks also to Ray for getting my car ready to go.

Open wheeling diff for the lose. :blink: I need more laps at Winton to get it right.. my lines were all over the place. If I had the new suspension setup in it would have helped too. Oh well at least i still snuck in under 1:40 hehe. Bring on Sandown :yes:

. :yes: I need more laps at Winton to get it right.. my lines were all over the place. If

Yet you parked it early :blink: I would have paid your entry for the day if you had of let me to drive the last two sessions.

It was good to see the Budgadore getting some good gear. I want to see the VB beating some late model jap cars :D

The day was a blast, and a big thanks to everyone involved with arranging the day! :yes:

There are not many photos floating around so I thought I might load some up.

There was a great selection of cars on the track- all racing fair. Was great to see!

Enjoy.

post-26930-1185713213_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713245_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713270_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713297_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713312_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713328_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713365_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713378_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713391_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713405_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713419_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713429_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713449_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713470_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713481_thumb.jpg

post-26930-1185713911_thumb.jpg

This topic is now closed to further replies.

• Good luck on the weekend mate
    • Must have been an absolute nightmare to drive when the power steer was out, the rack ratio/wheel size/caster is all set up for power assistance
    • Welcome to SAU, what are you looking at buying?
    • I checked the injectors again (1 and 2, since they’re easiest to access) to make sure they weren’t clogged. Even though the entire fuel system had been cleaned, I wanted to be certain. Everything looked clean, so I reinstalled and connected everything. When I started the car to confirm everything was okay, it immediately revved up high, so I shut it off straight away. I checked to see if I’d missed a vacuum hose or something, but everything was connected. On the second attempt, the car ran without the high idle, but I noticed a distinct “compressed air” sound coming from the engine bay. Tracing the sound, I pushed injector #6 forward slightly and the noise stopped — it turned out it wasn’t seated properly, despite the fuel rail being bolted down. While holding it in place, the car idled steadily without stalling and ran for over 5 minutes. At this point, I pulled all six injectors out just in case I hadn’t seated them correctly or dirt had gotten onto the O-rings. Unfortunately, I discovered that I had damaged 3 out of 6 injectors (the OEM 270cc ones) during installation. So yes, this was my fault. Since only the pintle caps were damaged, I’ve ordered a Fuel Injector Service Kit from NZEFI to refurbish them. In the meantime, I reinstalled my new injectors – the car now idles fine for over 15 minutes without stalling. I have not attempted to drive it so far. It’s not perfect yet, as it hesitates when the throttle is pressed, but it’s a big improvement. Unplugging the IACV with the new injectors idles at around 800rpm, even with the IACV screw tightened fully. But this is probably due to tune.
    • I wanted to try and preserve the front bumper as long as possible, they're not cheap and are made to order in Japan. Taking inspiration from my previous K11 Micra build where I made an undertray for the Impul bumper, I did the same for this BN Sports bumper but a little slimmed down.  This time round I only made a 'skid plate' (if that's the correct wording/term) for just the bumper surface area, the Micra version covered the gap like an undertray. Starting off with a sheet of mild steel approx. 0.9mm thick 4ft x 2ft in size. I traced around the bumper, cut it out and cleaned the edges. Luckily I was able to get two halves from one piece of metal In the video I installed it as is, but I've since then I've removed it to spray and add a rubber edging trim. The rubber trim is suitable for 1-2mm and it's a really nice tight fit. The bolts had to be loosened due to the plates being too tight against the bumper, the trim wouldn't push on I used some stainless M6 flat headed bolts for a flusher finish (rather than hex heads poking down), I believe this style fastener is used for furniture too incase you struggle to source some. The corner's are a little wider, but this may be an advantage incase I get close to bumping it  The front grill got some attention, finally getting round to repairing it. Upon removal one fixing pulled itself out of the plastic frame, one side is M8 that fixes inside of the frame, where as the other side is M5. Not knowing I could get replacements, I cut down an M8 bolt, threaded it inside the frame along with a decent amount of JB Weld.  The mesh was replaced to match the bumper. One hole on the bonnet/hood had to be drilled out to 8mm to accommodate the new stud, once the glue had set it could be refitted. I think the reason the grill was double meshed was to hide the horn/bonnet latch (which makes sense) but I much prefer it matching the bumper Bumper refitted and it's looking much better IMO The Youtube video can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVZP35io9MA