SAU Community

Rb20 Or Rb25?

Hi, just bought my first car today, which just happens to be an r34, and noticed the cover said twin cam 2000

Since im new to them im not sure how to tell if its a rb20 or rb25 and i cant find it written anywhere in the engine bay.

I was told it was a 2.5L which would be a rb25 right? going to be pretty pissed if its not.

post a photo..

better yet.. post the engine number

but.. you bought a car without knowing anything about it?

I know there were some R33's that came with boat anchor NA single cam RB20's, I thought the base model engine in an R34 was RB25.

Engine no. is rb20237187b

Which would seem it would be an rb20, but i thought id post this anyway just in the hope that i was wrong... And like i said, i was told it was an rb25, personaly i thought they mainly came in rb25's. Had road worthy done, racq check, no where did it say on it or anything, didnt concern me at the time. Was only bought for $13500, which for an r34...damn cheap. And all this wouldnt be a problem accept...he said it was a 2.5L on carsales, which would be false advertising.

Heres the link if you wanna see for your selfs.

http://www.carsales.com.au/used-cars/priva...amp;Make=NISSAN

Edited by Darkplague

Arnt they R33 wheels?

Yeah they are, pretty dodgy, ill be replacing them rather soon so i dont really mind.

The guy i bought it off reakoned he bought it like that.

Edited by Darkplague

You sir have purchased a R34 GT which accommodates a RB20DE NEO (GT - 2.0 L RB20DE NEO I6, 155 ps (114 kW))

I too used to be under the impression that the RB25 was the minimum capacity for the R34, but I was wrong. Read the wiki, it tells you about it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Skyline

And yes nizmo man, they are reported to be the most economical RB ever made.

WTF. i could have bet my testicles in certainty that the r34 never came out with the rb20. thank god i found this little piece of info.

now time to start a convo with my mates and wage a few $$$