SAU Community

Flat Battery, Push Start?

Soft

Hey guys, just needed a quick yay or nay on my situation, any advice would be greatly appreciated. For the first time on SAU, a forum search didn't solve things for me :(

Someone recently made an attempt to break in to my R34 GTT, but luckily the alarm scared them off and no damage was done to the car. Unfortunately though, I wasn't at home at the time and the alarm ran long enough to run the battery completely flat. I live on a hill, so thinking I might just give it a quick push start but wanted to check if anyone here thinks I shouldn't? May sound silly but just wanted to be 100% sure before I do it. It has an Exedy HD clutch but apart from that the transmission/engine is stock. If there's any risk of damage I'll ask a neighbour for a jump start but wanted to avoid the trouble.

Cheers in advance thanks.gif

I'm no auto electrician, but if your alarm was armed and activated when the battery died, you might find that the relay for the immobiliser is still immobilising the ignition system, so therefore you wont be able to start the car. You might have to jump the battery to deactivate the alarm (therefore switching the relay back to allow the ignition).

It depends on whether the relay is normally open or normally closed.

It depends on whether the relay is normally open or normally closed.

If the immobiliser is of any value it should be impossible to push start the car.

I've ran the battery flat a couple of times in my R33, jumper leads plus a donor car always does the trick :thumbsup:

As above mate, it might not push start if the immobiliser has locked the ignition. Just make sure you get the terminals right when you jump it. I'd come round to help but we're in syd full time now, don't even have the jesmond place now.

Push starting in general is fine though, the transmission and engine get a far harder bashing when driving the car.

Glad there was no damage!