SAU Community

Paint Protection - Does It Really Work And Costs?

Hi guys, I'm looking at getting paint protection done on my car and have heard several good things about it such as keeping the paint losing like new for 5-8 years, looking like it's been waxed weekly, easier to clean dirt off and that it protects the paint from UV damages.

Is all this true, where to get it done in VIC and roughly how much for the whole car?

I'm totally new to this so any help would be great.

Cheers

Kevin

• 4 weeks later...

Its a wank.

my mate had a detailing business and use to apply this so called paint protection to brand new cars for the dealerships. All he done was give ghe car a full hand polish with a good quality polish. I also have many mates that are spray painters who have also said all it is is a polish and these dealerships charge as much as 3k for this so called paint protection. Be weary my friends.

Josh

Epic waste of your money.

You would be better off putting some money aside for a professional detail, and some time with the detailer to learn how to take care of, and maintain the finish.

Thanks for all the replies guys. I have also been asking around and do some research, it appears a regular wash / polish and occasional detailing is better or just as food as paint protection only lasts a while and it's expensive as.

• 3 months later...

Final Inspection do a similar thing and you pay per coat I think. Dont know anyone who has had it for more than a few months so, so not sure of results.

should pay more attention to this section...

Final Inspection, FMJ (Full Metal Jacket) 2.5 years and it's starting to get a little tired but still beads and sheets, just not as well as it use to.

I layered another 1-2 layers of FI Seal 'Strong' after FMJ - garaged car, maintained with pH neutral shampoo.