SAU Community

Buying A Car In Act (Interstate)

ACT32

Hi SAU,

I am new to AUS and ACT so I need some advice with regards to owning a car in ACT. I would like to purchase a R32 GTR here in ACT as a weekend or occasional work car(mostly to restore and work on it as the kids gets older). I have looked online as availability and few have caught my attention and have some questions I hope you can answer for me.

Q1. what is the process involved when purchasing a car here in AUS (and interstate and registering in ACT)?

Q2. if the car is not registered in its current state can the car be bought and registered in ACT?

Q3. Recommended companies to do a car history / condition (number match) / financial check

Q4. From what I rad, for imports/modified cars ACT owners are required to take the car to Dickson VIS. I am happy to do so but I have also read that the car needs to be in its original condition. this can be an issue as most previous owners of a 20 year old GTR would have done some modifications to their car.

Q5. Is there a special category when registering a car over 20 years that avoids a comprehensive inspection for registration.

Q6. I have seen some classic cars with club plates and registration. if I buy a interstate car can it be registered via a ACT Skyline club?

Q7. if I buy a car that is registered in ACT do I still need to get a vehicle identity check and inspected via Dickson VIS?

Q8. ideally I would like a 94-92 version with 80-150k on the clock, how much would I expect to pay for a car in good condition?

Q9. any ACT owners want to sell there car ?

I think those are the questions I have for now and I am sure I will have more soon enough.

any help is much appreciated.

Hi Cham, I noticed you posted this morning and as yet no-one has responded :( that is sad! (bunch of lay about's)

Questions / Answers

Q1. what is the process involved when purchasing a car here in AUS (and interstate and registering in ACT)?