SAU Community

Hey all - I am a noob

R33LJ

Hi all,

Long time JDM fan first time Skyline owner. I recently picked up a R33 GTS-T. I was told is was M-Spec? It is stock as except Exhaust so I am happy with that.

The goods:

- 130, xxx KMS

- Interior in good condition

- Drives good

The bads:

- It has some mechanical issues at the moment - seems when under load acceleration just drops. ;/ I can see some threads regarding this so it looks common. Recently replaced spark plus and oxygen sensor, this helped it out but occasionally still occurs, I think the next step would be air flow meter?

- Paint is trash, thinking of getting it resprayed soon. Do you think these rust spots are bad? Should it done sooner then later? (see pics)

- Don't like the wheels (up for suggestions or a link to a thread that has plenty of ideas :) )

Thanks!

DSC_0302.JPG

Screenshot_20180722-091620.PNG

Screenshot_20180722-091639.PNG

DSC_0301.JPG

• Like 1

Welcome

Asking questions on the interwebs can be fraught with danger, for every answer to someting you ask you might get 1 out 5 who actually know what they are talking about, hell, I'm just a crazy old guy who drives a 86 now

My 2 cents

Priorities 

1. Take it to a shop and get it looked at, the last thing you need to do is break your car, whilst the car has problems minimise the times you drive it, and keep off boost when you do, a "good" shops that won't rape your wallet are few and far between, good shops out there, just be wary

2. Full service, engine oil/filter, transmission and diff, coolant, radiator flush, airfilter, bleed the brakes, does it have service history, if not, I would throw on a new timing belt and water pump, the coils on these cars can give the symptoms you speak of, but before you replace the coils take it to a shop to diagnose, it gets costly when you just replace parts willy nilly