SAU Community

Things in gearbox oil.

Hello, I changed my gearbox oil today and found these two things on the magnetic drain plug.

image0.thumb.jpeg.b869db65c9c7053aa3648f7ad2cf4a77.jpeg

20210606_132602.thumb.jpg.58b1df005ec9738a0416c368c39d9e4d.jpg

Does anyone know what and where these are from, and why they're in my oil?

Edited by dyl33
  • Like 1

8 minutes ago, Duncan said:

They are syncroniser clips, and would more commonly be found holding your syncro hubs together.

Did you change your oil for a reason?

Thanks duncan, Is it common for these syncroniser clips to fall out? How long do gearbox's last with them missing?

I had the gearbox rebuilt 2-3 yrs ago but it always felt a little sloppy, still works fine just a little notchy. Thought I'd change the oil...

yeah sorry I'm no gearbox expert. I guess it needs to come apart and may as well be checked/rebuilt while out.  The clips/keys hold the synchro hub assembly together and I think there are 3 per hub so perhaps the other one is holding in there for now, I was wondering if it was crunch shifting between a particular pair of gears.

• Like 1

Those particular shifting inserts are from the 1st / 2nd gear selector coupling from your main shaft assembly, and as Duncan mentioned there is 3 if them.

image.thumb.png.6b6f127804fcbdb7b37e83a4e18f15a7.png

Only a matter of time before your box will not select 1st or 2nd properly and is totally possible to lock the selector up completely. 

Pull box and get it fixed, or you'll definitely do more serious damage to main shaft gears, synchros or coupling components.

This is absolutely not a "see how it goes" problem - you will kill your box if you don't address this now.

• Like 4

10 hours ago, BK said:

Those particular shifting inserts are from the 1st / 2nd gear selector coupling from your main shaft assembly, and as Duncan mentioned there is 3 if them.

image.thumb.png.6b6f127804fcbdb7b37e83a4e18f15a7.png