SAU Community

Newbie - Melb - FiXtUrE in da house 😎

FiXtUrE

Hi all, I’m new to this whole forum thing, please excuse if I f#@k up 👍

I’m new to skylines as well as I owned s13’s for years. Can someone please tell me if I have to start with an R31 when starting with skylines?

A mate seems to think i have no choice but te start with an r31. All is good if o have to 😎 but can someone confirm this please?

thanks, & I’ll see you all in the threads 

• Like 1

Welcome. But what do you mean "start with an R31"? Do you mean that's the first one you're allowed to buy? If so, hell no. Some important points.

1. Australian market R31s are not the same as JDM R31s. They were typically owned by broke-arse flanny wearing fishtank swap offerers, are all thoroughly stuffed from elevnty years of neglect and bong smoke.
  2. JDM R31s are as rare as hen's teeth. Used to be the ugly duckling compared to R32s (and some might say the R33 and later also, but they would be wrong!!). But now, a good R31 is probably even more desirable than a good R32, even if the car is notionally not as good as an R32, simply because they are that one more step old skool retro JDM yo! The sharper squared off lines became cool again. I'd give a limb for one of the hot ones.
  3. JDM R31s are therefore not cheap.
  4. Any and all other Skylines (R32-4) are also not cheap. Now worth at least double what they were 20 years ago.
  5. Buy what you like/can afford. There may or may not be overlap between those two!
  • Like 1

Lol😎 …. I get the picture, thanks for the info gtsboy & nizmoman.👍

im gonna get me something that absolutely rips then. I’m more into sedan’s these days with the gf and mates Eric..a mad 32 or 34 sedan is looking good. 

thanks.

It’s pretty much the 80’s interior on a silo r31 that’s starting to show its age which I probably the only thing that stops me from wanting one. But old skool is cool that said.

I love watching big sedans drift, it’s like there getting more angle👍