SAU Community

Skyline handling in wet

DJ_L3ThAL

hi guys

had my first bad experience when it rained in melb yesterday, was taking a standard turn around and roundabout at about 40km/h (not accelerating) and the back end totally drifted and almost put me off the road, lucky i was taught how to correct shit like that but anyways i was extremely surprised how easily it lost tracktion, i think its probbaly i have shitty tyres, they came on the car and are brand new but i dont think they had the fact that it rains in the world when they designed them as it doesnt seem to hold at all in the wet, is this a common skyline problem or just my tyres ? if so what tyres would you guys recommend, im a newbie driver and i dont do anything stupid,i'd just like to be able to not hold up traffic going half the speed limit when it rains :) i wanna be able to trust my car in the wet if yas know what i mean

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'd definitely take a look at your tyres there! It should be doing it at that speed without any acceleration.

It can also be about clutch control..you have to be a lot easier in the wet and let the revs out slowly. Can be hard with a very in/out clutch but it can be done. I'm still learning mine a bit after a couple of months.

poor guys with only 2 wheels driving your cars

Well it makes us learn how to drive properly! The amount of WRX that get invovled in accidents because they shove it around corners in the dry at xxx speed, and then when it rains - slide.. "oh it never did _this_ in the dry..what do i do"...crunch!