SAU Community

How Cheap Can A Coupe Be Had?

Hi, I've been keeping my eye on J-Spec for a few months now following the 350GTs on there, I've seen anywhere from $21,000 - $40,000+

Was actually really close to buying one a month ago (also test drove a 350z) but my car ended up in a crash and I couldn't wait for an import to get here. Got an 08 ES lancer but to be honest, not as happy with it as I thought I would be (maybe cause I've still got that 350z test drive in my head?)

So, question... is it actually possible to get a 2003 premium coupe for around the $20,000-$23,000 mark in pretty good condition. Not looking for any mods or really low kms, and most likely an auto.

(like this looks pretty good http://www.j-spec.com.au/list/index.php?ID=13023)

Edited by DiamondD

the short answer is no

cars going for that price are generally non-premium with absolutely no features, or have higher kms

you've got to ask yourself why is it so cheap?

also, i think j-spec bases their prices on the listing priceof hte auction, and the car usually sells for a higher price than listed so take that into consideration

Mate you get what you pay for.

If your aiming for the lowest priced examples of any car, then expect the worst examples of those cars.

If you can't afford to look at middle of the range of a specific model then look for something else.

It is technically possible to get one quite cheap, but I agree with the above: you'll generally get what you pay for. There has been a large drop in prices the last few months though.

You find when cars are imported to Australia they are generally the best of the bunch in terms of specs, condition and features. That's what people will look for when you try and sell down the line.

Mate you get what you pay for.

If your aiming for the lowest priced examples of any car, then expect the worst examples of those cars.

If you can't afford to look at middle of the range of a specific model then look for something else.