SAU Community

New To Melb

fooyoh

Hey all, I'm new to Melb just moved from the ACT. In the midst of buying a skyline, probably r33 gts-t, love those :D

Anyone know where's a good place to do an inspection and compression test and what not?

Also, any good mechanics/workshops near the CBD area. I'm located in Carlton atm.

Cheers guys.

Been reading a lot about Chasers at West Melb, will probably head there for pre-purchase inspection.

How does the RWC work down in Vic? Is it going to be difficult getting 1 for an import? Any recommendations..

try buying a car with a RWC and id suggest someone like holford motors who do compliancing and importing they would be good to look over a car, worth the drive. chasers do more modification work

my 2c

Honestly don't touch a car without an RWC! either you or him will have to fix it, so it may as well be him. Don't bother getting a dodgey roady because you will have to fix it sooner or later and you will avoid the potential defect!

lol yeah their pretty strict ey..

so just to clear things out, are FMIC allowed? How about shielded pods and BOVs and exhaust systems.. What are the "official" rules on that so that I can get the RWC for registration.

Thanks guys.

lol yeah their pretty strict ey..

so just to clear things out, are FMIC allowed? How about shielded pods and BOVs and exhaust systems.. What are the "official" rules on that so that I can get the RWC for registration.

Thanks guys.

fmic arnt illegal, pods arnt either...but if you have the 2 together it makes it illegal. so one or the other. bov are illegal...exhaust systems are ok if they are 90db or under which most likely it wont be so its pretty much a no.

Well fact is not don't need it, so why bother in the first place?

Stock BOV's are fine.

Stock Airbox is also fine.

Don't change, don't get defected, save money - buy beer.

quoted for truth