SAU Community

How Much Is A Black Matte Respray?

Hey guys,

I am new to the world of cars and I will be purchasing a Nissan Skyline R33/34 around 2013 and I know I would like it in black matte (money permitting).

Is this something which can be achieved without losing an arm or a leg and without being dodgy?

Cheers for any help,

ッ.jp

I talked to some painters recently regarding satin black and they said the cost of the paint is basically the same.. so im thinking you would be looking at a normal respray price, but if you were going with a matte black you wouldnt want it done cheaply! at least 5k i would think at a min.. but it would be a nightmare to maintain i would think...

The maintenance of a matte paint is very high, a wrap is slightly cheaper but may last longer, you need to clean it straight away if a bird shit on it or a bug hits it or tree SAP gets on it as the acids will stain it.

You cannot use wash and wax car wash on it either.

I had the rear wing done in matte black, that lasted 2 weeks before I got the shits with it and gave it a good polish and wax, its now sort of flat black.

It does look smick for a while though, I estimate 2 weeks if the car gets driven regularly.

The wrap above has been on my daily driven car for 2 years...

Is washed with Meguiars gold class car wash and was left outside un-garaged for a year through a brisbane summer and winter (not something i would suggest but is testament to the strength of the product)

You can use wash and wax on a wrap, but if its a matte colored wrap then naturally you wouldn't use a wash and wax or something that contains anything aimed at keeping your paint shiney, that would defeat the purpose. If your wrap went glossy or even satin from a matte finish then it sounds like you've used something you shouldn't have.