SAU Community

Wheel/rim Cleaner

Can anyone recommend a good rim cleaner?

I tried the non acid meguiars stuff cause its on special at super cheap, but it didnt clean anything, may as well brush my teeth with it. I might try the normal stuff they have if its still on special

Anyone got any recommendations? hopefully at a good price as im a tight bastard and im not a professional by any stretch of the term, so I just want something decent that does the job

Megiars non-acid is more gentle for polished, chrome or aluminium wheels, etc. "All Wheel Cleaner" has a bit more bite and is fine for painted factory wheels.

I've also tried Autoglym Clean Wheels (pretty good) and P21S Gel (very good but pricey). Megiars Wheel Brightener is probably the strongest one I have tried so far, but only comes in bulk trade packs and is a special order from most "walk in" auto shops

I use whatever is suitable for the job - usually the weakest possible cleaner, just to be safe. Also, the whole spray on/ hose off thing that some companies advertise is rubbish, unless you use a high pressure cleaner, elbow grease will still be required

Can anyone recommend a good rim cleaner?

I tried the non acid meguiars stuff cause its on special at super cheap, but it didnt clean anything, may as well brush my teeth with it. I might try the normal stuff they have if its still on special

Anyone got any recommendations? hopefully at a good price as im a tight bastard and im not a professional by any stretch of the term, so I just want something decent that does the job

glad i'm not the first person to say it.

was trying to clean my LMGT4s, used that cos it is 'gentle' but honestly i don't think it even would clean my hands...

I would also suggest to use a nice tar remover on the wheels as normal wheel cleaner wont touch it. Most wheels will have tar spots on them, especially on the inside barrel.