SAU Community

My Bitfenix Prodigy Build (Contains Images)

Hey guys,

I haven't really been on the Skyline Forums for a long time. I've been a bit financially crippled concerning car stuff.

And this is one of the reasons why.

This is my first PC build, although I don't think I've felt confused or worried at any stage, which I guess is a good sign. I've done my research, and I think it will pay off.

I'm currently studying IT at University externally, which is a massive challenge for me, but hey, bring it on.

Anyway, I felt I needed something to build this year, which I knew I could manage and most importantly afford. I also felt I needed something to reinforce my coursework, by giving me the confidence in successfully completing an intricate PC build.

I've been purchasing parts over several pays, one chunk at a time, so I've never had a set list of parts. I've kind of just winged it, with the help of PC Part Picker to confirm it will all fit.

Anyway, so far, I have the following installed:

• BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ITX Case - Black
  • Gigabyte GA-H87N-WIFI Mini ITX Mobo
  • Corsair CX-600 PSU 80+ Bronze
  • Intel Core i7 4770k (Over-clockable)
  • BitFenix Spectre 230mm Blue LED Fan Intake
  • BitFenix Alchemy Blue LED strip
  • Antec Kuhler 650 H2O Liquid CPU cooler (Barely fit - Extremely painful to install in my setup)
  • G.Skill Ares 16GB (2 x 8GB) RAM DDR3 1866MHz
  • Corsair AF120 Quiet Edition Fans for a custom exhaust I modified for the roof of the case (See Images)

I have bought a Gigabyte GTX-770 OC 4GB, which should arrive in the next few days, and should give me a beast of a gaming experience. Managed to pick a new one up on eBay, during their 10% off discount thing for a reasonable price.

At this point, I've spent like $1700. I might be just over $2000 by the end of the build, not including a new monitor, keyboard and mouse.

All I need now is an SSD, and a HDD, which I plan on being a Samsung 250GB and a WD Black 1 TB respectively.