SAU Community

Stock R33 Series 2 Gtst Flat Spots On Boost

donnaile

Hi All

My name is Ed. I am new to Skyline ownership. I have been looking over this forum the past 4-6 months before buying a car, its a great source of information so thanks to everyone. I ended up getting a series 2 r33 gtst. I'm loving it so far but have one nagging issue...flat spots on boost.

I have been researching forums on the issue I'v been having with my gtst but can't find anyone with the same issue. Its completely standard, no exhaust, no pod etc.Everyone with flat spots seemed to develop after mods were added.

I have two flat spots when on boost. Between 4000rpm - 4500rpm & 5000rpm - 5100rpm. It feels like the car is hesitating when it hits these spots and mostly noticeable at full throttle.

Reading the forums I can see its common to have a flat spot between 4000rpm - 4500rpm when you upgrade parts on standard ECU but in my case the car is standard. Before I bought it however I believe it had an exhaust, fmic and pod. The previous owner removed these, serviced and replaced timing belt.

What I have done so far:

Cleaned the AFM
Reset the ECU (disconnect battery/brake pedal)
Replaced plugs

I am running shell vpower. My guess is timing but I don't have the tools/knowledge to check this. I have put around 600km on it since I bought it. Its running sweet besides the flat spot issue. If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great.

Thanks
Ed

Depends what you call a flat spot. There is normally a dip on the RB25 as the VCT changes over. Did you gap the plugs down to 0.8mm? Give the coils a good clean? Put your location up on your profile so maybe somebody close by can take a drive to compare or point you to a good RB workshop if there is really a major fault.