SAU Community

I'm trying to install a new head unit into my 92 GTST, I got the until in but I'm not getting anything from the speakers, I'm pretty sure I have it hooked up right but I read somewhere that the amp in the boot wont operate with a new head unit. I'm trying to avoid rewiring all of the speakers but I'm pretty new to the audio world and any help would be much appreciated. 

I'm trying to install a new head unit into my 92 GTST, I got the until in but I'm not getting anything from the speakers, I'm pretty sure I have it hooked up right but I read somewhere that the amp in the boot wont operate with a new head unit. I'm trying to avoid rewiring all of the speakers but I'm pretty new to the audio world and any help would be much appreciated. 
Sorry to hear you're having troubles.

We're probably going to need more to go on than what you have here. A couple of pics and a hand drwwn diagram would be awesome and also the make and model of your amp and head unit.

Are you getting power to both the amp and head unit right now? And if so what voltages do you see?

2 hours ago, Steve85 said:

Sorry to hear you're having troubles.

We're probably going to need more to go on than what you have here. A couple of pics and a hand drwwn diagram would be awesome and also the make and model of your amp and head unit.

Are you getting power to both the amp and head unit right now? And if so what voltages do you see?

I have power at the head, unsure about the amp I will check it when I get home from my little trip. I have 12 volts and a 5v reference at the head. This is the reference I used to write the head unit. It's a lower model kenwood head unit. Not sure of the particular model right now. I ran into this issue then had to leave for a small work trip. 

Screenshot_20190726-061321_Drive.jpg

Edited by Digdug154
  • Like 1

35 minutes ago, GTSBoy said:

There are wires that run from the console back to the amp. These can be made to connect to speakers instead.