Draen Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 Hi all, I am moving down from Brisbane to Sydney in about 1 month's time, and will be taking my 32gtst down with me, to help transport all my gear. I believe my line is in good nick and driving it 1000ks shouldnt be a prob going the speed limit, carrying extra baggage, with regular stops. I have changed the oil and filter and will be doing the coolant and brakes (new fluid), replacing fuel filter. My suspension is fine according to the pedders check. Any other major things I should consider/check up on? Just curious for those who have driven it for a long time, whether they had any issues, or have any tips on what to do before or during the trip. (Regular stops for myself and the car is a given). I will be bringing a pillow to put behind my lower back - gotta love the gtst seats! On a different note, once I settle down, down there, I'm keen to meet some enthusiasts down there, and test out the sydney roads/mountains. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
sh@un Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 You could do 10,000kms non-stop if the car was serviced properly and isn't prone to over heating. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036068 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinks Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 the only time you'll have a problem is if there's something wrong with your car already. well maintained = no issues. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036086 Share on other sites More sharing options...
lanky71 Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 I did the reverse trip about 2 months ago.. took my car from sydney to surfers paradise and then back again... no problems. The car had existing electric issues which did not come into play until i got the car back but if u're car has no issues it should be ok. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036179 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTRsean Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 She'll do it easy. I did a Sydney to Melb to Tassie to Melb to Qld to Sydney trip couple of years ago. No probs. Syd to Bundy to Syd 2800ks no probs a few times. Like the guys say, if it's maintained etc, should be like any other car. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036193 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trooper Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 Few basic ones im sure you have already thought of : tire pressure, spare fuses (just in case), check the spare tire too (also just in case), bottle of water in case she gets a bit hot and LOTS of CD's nothing worse than a long trip with the same 2 CD's over and over and over and over again... I will be doing the reverse soon, driving from syd - brissy then putting the car on a train from brissy to cairns (cheaper to train from brissy than to drive and saves some k's) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036344 Share on other sites More sharing options...
aphid Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 i did melbourne to brisbane in 12 hours, that's an 1800km trip, so i suspect your car will be fine Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036349 Share on other sites More sharing options...
O.I.C Napster Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 i did melbourne to brisbane in 12 hours, that's an 1800km trip, so i suspect your car will be fine mmmmmm find that hard to believe, speed limits and all Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036448 Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom9999 Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 My brother and i did Melbourne to Townsville. 2000-3000km a/c on the whole way non stop took about 35 hours Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036461 Share on other sites More sharing options...
fEkuaR Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 i did melbourne to brisbane in 12 hours, that's an 1800km trip, so i suspect your car will be fine you did it in 12 hours? that would average something like 150km/h? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036479 Share on other sites More sharing options...
32vspecII Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 i did melb to perth in 2.5 days once f**ked me Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036489 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyline_95GTS Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 i did melbourne to brisbane in 12 hours, that's an 1800km trip, so i suspect your car will be fine 12 hours???? ....and the rest Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036515 Share on other sites More sharing options...
krzysiu Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 you did it in 12 hours? that would average something like 150km/h? Yeah that averages 150km/h! Me calls bullshit! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3036564 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lazy-Bastard Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 Yeah that averages 150km/h! Me calls bullshit! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3037773 Share on other sites More sharing options...
dezz Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 I love how people go on and on about how superiour Jap cars are to everything made in Aus, yet I've read so many of these 'will my car make it' threads.....Its not a race car, it will be absolutely fine, other than random shit that can happen to ANY car.... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3037804 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mesmerized Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 Hi all,I am moving down from Brisbane to Sydney in about 1 month's time, and will be taking my 32gtst down with me, to help transport all my gear. I believe my line is in good nick and driving it 1000ks shouldnt be a prob going the speed limit, carrying extra baggage, with regular stops. I have changed the oil and filter and will be doing the coolant and brakes (new fluid), replacing fuel filter. My suspension is fine according to the pedders check. Any other major things I should consider/check up on? Just curious for those who have driven it for a long time, whether they had any issues, or have any tips on what to do before or during the trip. (Regular stops for myself and the car is a given). I will be bringing a pillow to put behind my lower back - gotta love the gtst seats! On a different note, once I settle down, down there, I'm keen to meet some enthusiasts down there, and test out the sydney roads/mountains. try old pacific hwy from horsnby 2 gosford. road's really smooth and deserted at night. my mate got up 2 210kph in a old skool celica. lot's of fun Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3038054 Share on other sites More sharing options...
EVILTD Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 no issues if you got it services recently.... no worries at all... only thing is to cane it too hard - if you push the turbo to it's limit (which it doesn't sound like you will) then it should be fine... try to get a 10 minute break every 200 kms or something... good luck. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3038076 Share on other sites More sharing options...
dezz Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 lol. Why would it need a 10 minute break every 200kms? What do you think you're dealing with here? It's a car. its built to be driven. It does not need a break every 200km...its not a person running... The turbo will pretty much be inactive for the entire trip once on the highway, unless you choose to use it, or are unable to control your speed (ie can't drive properly) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3038169 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baconer Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 Petrol will be the only killer. Bought mine in Melbourne and had to drive it back to Canberra (600km). When i bought it i didnt know the aircon unit was stuck on all the time so it was absolutly guzzling (300km a tank), other then that though was a fun drive, nothing better then driving your new car on an open dual lane highway for 600km on a work day Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3038187 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trooper Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 lol. Why would it need a 10 minute break every 200kms? I think he was referring to a quick break every 2hrs so the drive does not get fatigued. Good advice Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/#findComment-3038278 Share on other sites More sharing options...