SAU Community

First Boost Build

DR3AMN

Hey guys.

New here. Name is Jason (Go by Jase). Awesome forum i have been floating around reading and searching for a bit now. Very interesting stuff. Anyway i have just bought my first Boosted car its a series 2 R33 Rb25DET Manual. I have basic knowledge on N/A engines but not much when it comes to boosting.

To get to the point i have been seeing alot of benefits with going a RB30 bottom end with a 25 head for the extra torque. What i want to do is buy a RB30 bottom end and put the 25 head on there and put it in my skyline because its my daily so the extra torque would be good when not on boost.

Anyway i just have a few questions. Im new to the RB/import scene in general so please no hate or flaming me.

Is there difference between 30DET block and a N/A 30 block or is it just the internals?

What about between cars like any difference between R31 Rb30 or VL Rb30 or Old Pajero RB30 bottom ends??

Should i put my 25DET head on the 30 or a DE?

I want to keep the standard bottom end in the 30 and just put ACL race series mains and rod bearings or should i just use standard new bearings and new rings due to i am building the engine myself and just want to gain a little more experience before doing the whole forged everything incase it goes boom i wont be out of pocket to much.

Do i need to do anything to the crank when replacing the bearings like get it re surfaced? Or can i just leave it in there?

I want to use standard turbo for now at about 11 or 12psi so what would be a good CR for this without affecting off boost drivability? Goals are about 230/250rwkw

Can i use my standard 25Det ECU and loom untill i get the Haltech platinum 2000?

Im not going to put to many questions out there. While i keep looking any info would be muchly appreciated if anyone can give me any input. I havent found anyone doing something like this its all been worked motors with upgraded turbos,higher psi,lower CR for more boost etc etc.