SAU Community

Need Help On Gear Box Decision!

bez500hp

Looking to replace or rebuild r32 gtr gear box.

First of all just jap is selling a brand new r33 gtr gearbox for 2.9k (very tempting!) Which i already know is the better beefy box

Or

Can i rebuild my original box the same if not better for the same price as this r33 box

just asking ppls opinions on what i should do as im still new to the gtr scene.

Hope to hear back from yous, cheers

Hi Ben, what's wrong with you current gearbox, and what are your future plans for the car?

They are a very strong box from the factory (not many cars come standard with a box that handles 2-3x factory power) so what you have may not need anything, particularly if it doesn't crunch on quick changes from 4th to 5th

If on the other hand you are building another 500kw time attack car, you will need something a bit more expensive.....

Hey theres nothing concerning with my box atm however there is a continuing howling noise coming from that area it could be the pressure plate or it could be manny things my machanic said cant put his finger on it so itll have to come out to find the problem...

theres no crunching ...ive never launched it so it hasnt been abused.

However ill be recoing the car looking to produce 300kw at the wheels or maybe 350kw if im lucky.

Just want everything done once and done right so i can just drive my car and nothing braking . At the end of the day its a 24 year old car and things need to be re-done or replaced.

Cheers, ben

33 gearboxes have been know to be more prone to breaking then 32 gearboxes, you would also need to change the clutch it self and the slave cylinder (unless yours is a 2/93>)

Have you check the basics like it actually having oil in it?

Also of it only needs a set of bearings it will be cheaper to recondition your gearbox