SAU Community

Hello from South Aus!

Millerman

Hi guys my names Dan,

i have had my eye on my friends dad’s datsun 260z 2+2 for about 10 years now and due to some health circumstances he has decided to sell it to me. Its a late 1974 model with l26 and manual box. Currently red but factory green i beleive. Right hand drive too! 
my plan is to take l26 and box out and install rb25det engine and 5 speed box. Ive owned many skylines and jdm imports but never a Z so would like to combine the look with the power from new heart! 
im an auto electrician by trade and have been for 10 years now. If you have any electrical questions im more than happy to receive pm’s through the forum and ill also try my best to help out with posts asking for help! 

good to be here and im sure there will be many questions but from ive seen so far there is an exstensive amount of info here !

Dan

• Like 3

Here are some pics of when we bought the car. I was reading through the service history and it only has 66,000kms. we also found an rb25det With gearbox, ecu and loom Out of an r33 skyline for a good price! I got to see it running  the car beforehand and apparently only has 117,000kms but you never know with import cars! Compression test came up quite well sitting at approx 150psi across all 6 (dry)
BC2BB7BB-5566-4BBF-82C1-2BEB7C86A406.jpeg

7260C2A4-3E31-4A76-9BFE-6B2BB595A4FB.jpeg

43A546D5-0C09-433C-9509-DE935F0D1864.jpeg

Edited by Millerman
  • Like 3

You could use a CD009 to get 6spd manual and keep it in the Z family, there are some kits out there to use them with a RB25 and they are well regarded for their ability to handle lots of abuse if you plan on doing a big turbo.

Edited by Agret

10 minutes ago, Agret said:

You could use a CD009 to get 6spd manual and keep it in the Z family, there are some kits out there to use them with a RB25 and they are well regarded for their ability to handle lots of abuse if you plan on doing a big turbo.