GD51LA Posted August 14, 2010 Share Posted August 14, 2010 which is the best oil to use regardless of the price? that is engine trans and diff which motul? 300v? s3 r33 gtr with gen 50k on the clock? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5399264 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moodles2 Posted August 14, 2010 Share Posted August 14, 2010 Regardless of price. Motul Chrono 300V (10w40) is the best possible oil for skylines. Trans and diff anything fully synthetic really, I like Redline gear oils for this purpose Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5399340 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galois Posted August 15, 2010 Share Posted August 15, 2010 best possible oil is probably the redline for hundreds of $$$, fully synthetic, group 5 and used by a lot of people for track cars. can't remember the others but im sure you'll find them if you look back through the pages. the thing is, if you're not running to the redline on a track for dozens of laps you don't need to spend that money on the oil. for a stockish steet car you can get away with a really good semi-synth, but i prefer group 4 or 5's, 8100 xcess, 300v or royal purple, all good stuff. just be warned nulon "fully synthetic" is a lie, and magnatec is shite Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5399428 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volk34 Posted August 16, 2010 Share Posted August 16, 2010 did an oil change yesterday and used Motul 8100 X-CESS runs great at the mo really happy with it Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5401191 Share on other sites More sharing options...
samuri Posted August 26, 2010 Share Posted August 26, 2010 did an oil change yesterday and used Motul 8100 X-CESS runs great at the mo really happy with it Motul seems to be the preferred oil?I am curious to hear what others have to say about Castrol Edge. Where does it fit in when comparing synthetics (10-30w). what is the going price for Motul 8100 X-CESS Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5418288 Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotty nm35 Posted August 27, 2010 Share Posted August 27, 2010 Best price on a group 5 oil is Gulf Western Sougi 6000, it can be found for $60 for 5L, I was buying 300v but the price is excessive for the 5000k changes I do. For those contemplating E85, the Sougi is ethanol/methanol tolerant unlike the 300v. (although I had no problem with it.) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5419051 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galois Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 motul 8100 excess will be about $75 for 5L. sougi is the best value for money but no longer being made. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421574 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rolls Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 motul 8100 excess will be about $75 for 5L. Used to be $59 at Marion shopping centre here in Adelaide. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421579 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pipster11 Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 motul 8100 excess will be about $75 for 5L.sougi is the best value for money but no longer being made. there is still heaps left tho and if it gets used up quickly they may make another batch Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421583 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon 34 Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 best possible oil is probably the redline for hundreds of $$, fully synthetic, group 5 and used by a lot of people for track cars.can't remember the others but im sure you'll find them if you look back through the pages. the thing is, if you're not running to the redline on a track for dozens of laps you don't need to spend that money on the oil. for a stockish steet car you can get away with a really good semi-synth, but i prefer group 4 or 5's, 8100 xcess, 300v or royal purple, all good stuff. just be warned nulon "fully synthetic" is a lie, and magnatec is shite I run Redline in everything, only oil approved for use in F18 jets ?, and can get group buy happening if enough interest Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421650 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galois Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 I run Redline in everything, only oil approved for use in F18 jets ?, and can get group buy happening if enough interest how much do you reckon we'd save on a group buy? i'd be keen if the price is okay Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421701 Share on other sites More sharing options...
samuri Posted August 30, 2010 Share Posted August 30, 2010 how much do you reckon we'd save on a group buy? i'd be keen if the price is okay Depends how many jets you have ! But I think somewhere between 5% and 10% Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5421916 Share on other sites More sharing options...
toddys13 Posted August 31, 2010 Share Posted August 31, 2010 mad!! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5423736 Share on other sites More sharing options...
toddys13 Posted August 31, 2010 Share Posted August 31, 2010 sounds good Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5423738 Share on other sites More sharing options...
toddys13 Posted August 31, 2010 Share Posted August 31, 2010 hell yeah Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5423741 Share on other sites More sharing options...
toddys13 Posted August 31, 2010 Share Posted August 31, 2010 sick Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5423744 Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnd320 Posted September 4, 2010 Share Posted September 4, 2010 I run Redline in everything, only oil approved for use in F18 jets ?, and can get group buy happening if enough interest Definately interested in a Group Buy of redline oils at the right price. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5430602 Share on other sites More sharing options...
samuri Posted September 4, 2010 Share Posted September 4, 2010 Definately interested in a Group Buy of redline oils at the right price. Is $14 a quart for Royal purple a normal price?Nothing within a 1000k of me Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5430928 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galois Posted September 4, 2010 Share Posted September 4, 2010 it is a damn good price for it mate, the only place ive found near me sells it for $80 for 5L Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5430952 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31 POWER Posted September 4, 2010 Share Posted September 4, 2010 http://www.liqui-moly.de/liquimoly/produkt.../id/e_1091.html Views?? Cant find anything on here about it. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22458-the-goods-on-oils/page/84/#findComment-5430960 Share on other sites More sharing options...