SAU Community

Buying A New Car? Read This First. (warranty)

Calsonic14U

Hello fellow SAU'ers.

I am a mechanic in a privately owned rent a car shop in western Sydney.

My boss recently purchased a 2012 Nissan Micra. Now the car is a rental yes, and our customers when re fueling always put E-10 unleaded in because of the obvious reason that it is cheaper.

Now lately ive had a really bad run of not just this car but a lot of my 4 cylinder hiace vans logging the engine fault light. When i scan with my computer it tells me every time that an O2 sensor is faulty. You can clear the code and will come back on within a few hours of driving.

Now most new cars these days on the inside of the fuel cap state that they are "E-10" Suitable. In this case the micra does not have this sticker inside the petrol flap. Doesnt stop our customers obviously. Truth is not all cars are E-10 suitable. Premature failure of the 02 sensors is very common yet when the government and petrol stations talk about it this problem is easily overlooked.

RACV-e10suitable_zps059d48b2.jpg

The problem is Nissan when contacted are not covering this type of problem under the new car warranty. I service all the cars as per book as a licensed workshop this does not void warrenty at all. Nissans reason for not covering warranty was the fact that E-10 could have been used and has caused the 02 sensor to fail.

The car runs poorly, cutting out, stalling and for a vehicle with only 20,000km on it you would expect even with E-10 the o2 sensor would last a lot longer than this. Considering the hiace vans with the lights comming on are at 100,000km plus before logging the code.