SAU Community

Why Disable Hicas?

Hi everybobody,

Can you guys answer a stupid question for me?

I read in a hell of a lot of threads on these forums about people locking thier Hicas and was just wondering what the benefits of doing this are? Is it for handling or for traction?

I know its a silly question but how do you learn things if you dont ask questions eh?

P.S. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong section

Dave

i'm no expert but to get the ball rolling for ya i think most people disabel it cos it just plain stuffs up

i think it only really comes into operation at around the 80 km/hr mark (could be wrong) and it just allows the rear wheels to steer by like 1, 2 ,or 3 degrees, if u were deciding to do a U-turn at this speed.

i think there's a few people on here that get the locks because of a near scare they may of had with it stuffing up on them at over 80 k/hr...others just see the light come on on the dash and the easiest solution (i think) is to just lock that crap up.

i really think its sorta useless

so in short i dont think there are really any benefits ...maybe in extreme racing conditions???

i haven't had any troubles from mine tho

that's what ive read on these forums

but i welcome corrections

hicas is a 4ws steering system that you have no controll over. say if you are taking a corner at a certain speed and you've picked your line and all that stuff (i dunno i dont race), hicas may decide to kick in unexpectedly and change the way you car handles. like mentioned above it only kicks in above 80 or so km/h so not really a problem in daily driving. but twisties and onn the track is a different story