@Dose Pipe Sutututu 2 relevant topics-

A)  Buy a new model RS3, amazingly raw, fun car.  Better than that BMW plastic shite.

B)  I see on your I/O report you've got Tacho Signal out.  Does the Haltech convert the signal to the proper signal for the R33 or do you need one of those converter boxes that Haltech sell?

On 12/08/2022 at 8:32 AM, ActionDan said:

Well if we were not so shit at investing then maybe we could have both... 

Haha yep, buy high sell low right? LOL.

On 12/08/2022 at 1:24 PM, Shoota_77 said:

@Dose Pipe Sutututu 2 relevant topics-

A)  Buy a new model RS3, amazingly raw, fun car.  Better than that BMW plastic shite.

B)  I see on your I/O report you've got Tacho Signal out.  Does the Haltech convert the signal to the proper signal for the R33 or do you need one of those converter boxes that Haltech sell?

RS4 is great and all, but I have some inner bogan/hoon and like RWD or at the very least a RWD selectable car hence I own a GTS-t shit box. 1st car was Toyota Lexcen aka Commodore VN with Toyota badges lol.. 

I "think" the Haltech outputs direct to the OEM dash without any converter box (factory or aftermarket). 

On 10/08/2022 at 4:06 PM, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

I have been invited to a private track day this month at Luddenham, should be fun :) 

have you driven the track before? its a good fun track, but more orientated to lower HP cars as its pretty tight and short straight

On 12/08/2022 at 3:55 PM, Jasoncauser said:

have you driven the track before? its a good fun track, but more orientated to lower HP cars as its pretty tight and short straight

Will be the first time, should be interesting provided I actually go 🥲

I can imagine I wouldn't even need 3rd now with the 8600rpm limiter lol.

Yeah I think I touched on 4th (like top out 3rd, pull 4th, just before braking back to 3rd and turning into turn 1) in my 32 but you have twice the power than me so will make it interesting lol

my first time on the track, just after getting the 32. tyres were 3yr old NT01's, rotors were cactus, pads were street pads.
You can see the vibrations when I hit the brakes lol. After this is when I put new BDA rotors, Hi Temp Brake fluid and Intima type 2 pads. Wow what a difference

Found an hour free from the kid & wife, decided that I needed to have a selectable rev limter for skid pans (which I go here and there).

Knowing a high RPM on a wet skid pan will just result in too much wheel speed, having a selectable mang mang limiter essentially will limit the wheel speed when I'm bashing 2nd gear :) 

1x can button, 4x limiters:

• 7000 rpm
  • 7500 rpm
  • 8000 rpm
  • 8600 rpm

image.thumb.png.8b53640a9212af4da496c59594246a4e.png

• Like 4

Sweet, I bet you cant wait.
Got a camera or laptimer or anything like that in the car?
I use Harry's Lap Timer on my iphone and a Ram Mount windscreen suction cup, works well 
Does video with cool data overlay

On 15/08/2022 at 1:24 PM, Jasoncauser said:

Sweet, I bet you cant wait.
Got a camera or laptimer or anything like that in the car?
I use Harry's Lap Timer on my iphone and a Ram Mount windscreen suction cup, works well 
Does video with cool data overlay

Kind of can, I have a feeling there will be max level of anxiety on the day lol...

I have a Garmin VIRB which tracks a few data points such as laptime, speed, Gs, etc.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• @Haggerty you still haven't answered my question.  Many things you are saying do not make sense for someone who can tune, yet I would not expect someone who cannot tune to be playing with the things in the ECU that you are.  This process would be a lot quicker to figure out if we can remove user error from the equation. 
    • If as it's stalling, the fuel pressure rises, it's saying there's less vacuum in the intake manifold. This is pretty typical of an engine that is slowing down.   While typically is agree it sounds fuel related, it really sounds fuel/air mixture related. Since the whole system has been refurbished, including injectors, pump, etc, it's likely we've altered how well the system is delivering fuel. If someone before you has messed with the IACV because it needed fiddling with as the fuel system was dieing out, we need to readjust it back. Getting things back to factory spec everywhere, is what's going to help the entire system. So if it idles at 400rpm with no IACV, that needs raising. Getting factory air flow back to normal will help us get everything back in spec, and likely help chase down any other issues. Back on IACV, if the base idle (no IACV plugged in) is too far out, it's a lot harder for the ECU to control idle. The IACV duty cycle causes non linear variations in reality. When I've tuned the idle valves in the past, you need to keep it in a relatively narrow window on aftermarket ecus to stop them doing wild dances. It also means if your base idle is too low, the valve needs to open too much, and then the smallest % change ends up being a huge variation.
    • I guess one thing that might be wrong is the manifold pressure.  It is a constant -5.9 and never moves even under 100% throttle and load.  I would expect it to atleast go to 0 correct?  It's doing this with the OEM MAP as well as the ECU vacuum sensor. When trying to tune the base map under load the crosshairs only climb vertically with RPM, but always in the -5.9 column.
    • AHHHH gotchaa, I'll do that once I am home again. I tried doing the harness with the multimeter but it seems the car needed a jump, there was no power when it was in the "ON" position. Not sure if I should use car battery jump starter or if its because the stuff that has been disconnect the car just does send power.
    • As far as I can tell I have everything properly set in the Haltech software for engine size, injector data, all sensors seem to be reporting proper numbers.  If I change any injector details it doesnt run right.    Changing the base map is having the biggest change in response, im not sure how people are saying it doesnt really matter.  I'm guessing under normal conditions the ECU is able to self adjust and keep everything smooth.   Right now my best performance is happening by lowering the base map just enough to where the ECU us doing short term cut of about 45% to reach the target Lambda of 14.7.  That way when I start putting load on it still has high enough fuel map to not be so lean.  After 2500 rpm I raised the base map to what would be really rich at no load, but still helps with the lean spots on load.  I figure I don't have much reason to be above 2500rpm with no load.  When watching other videos it seems their target is reached much faster than mine.  Mine takes forever to adjust and reach the target. My next few days will be spent making sure timing is good, it was running fine before doing the ECU and DBW swap, but want to verify.  I'll also probably swap in the new injectors I bought as well as a walbro 255 pump.