Shoota's R33 GT-R RB30/26

Got a bit of a start on the dump. Cut the taper to fit the v-band, ground it perfectly flat (one of the (multitude) of keys to a half decent tig weld I slowly discovered doing the rest of the exhaust...) then tacked them together. Measured up the first bend off the taper and cut the end off the 90 degree bend. Because of the front mount manifold it means the turbo is on an angle so you need to go down and away from the engine at the same time. Makes it a bit trickier...

I'll be cutting more off the end part way through the 90 but tacked it on and I'll work out where to cut it while it's in place.

20191011_212053.thumb.jpg.7c3bdb03fd2a031171b94c9ae73fbd65.jpg20191011_212038.thumb.jpg.65b2f472393c1b03d7215d0623910a30.jpg20191011_212249.thumb.jpg.0d92efaf4ea047f3ab2ed1514ce708ce.jpg

20191011_212301.thumb.jpg.b189a0e0a8818d53cd14e5e5194248ea.jpg20191011_220833.thumb.jpg.5e9b018e95abced6598338f20e1c4355.jpg20191011_230857.thumb.jpg.af1a1ea935465bdc2a62b0b8434686a6.jpg20191011_231020.thumb.jpg.8233c6a2584a2bc94f8f6a2c381dd20b.jpg20191011_231010.thumb.jpg.e2af02083b6eb1dd6c05c0046180f5fe.jpg

Ha ha!! You’re persistent!

I currently have one point left on my licence so I’ll be looking for ways to be less obvious to inspector Po Po. I don’t think a bonnet exit exhaust and screamer will help me achieve my goals ??

• Shoota_77 changed the title to Shoota's R33 GT-R RB30/26

Got a bit more done of the dump. Pretty much out the bottom now. 

Has anyone come up with a solution for the a/c evapirator drain pipe? Ive gone closer to the firewall than standard. Might just chop most of it off and leave a little dick poking out. 

Did my first full (not just tacking) weld on the dump pipe. Did a terrible job ?.  The rest of the exhaust I didn't use filler. With the dump I did so felt a bit uncomfortable. I get so bloody nervous and jumpy when im welding.  I need to chill out and slow the f down!! Once it's ceramic coated it won't be so obvious how nasty it is. 

Slow going but good to be making some decent progress!

20191013_150351.thumb.jpg.628035b2604d3bab028ba3d55c04069f.jpg20191012_170836.thumb.jpg.aeddea2fb83d091e364dd472fced7b4a.jpg20191012_170842.thumb.jpg.664abed34b85ba18062c5e8a205c9589.jpg20191012_170831.thumb.jpg.4c2e6dc1738e479a015d7f3db4ab0cb5.jpg20191012_223013.thumb.jpg.ff88cdba70ee438130d704f424c10e68.jpg20191012_223019.thumb.jpg.7b57c5a8a785531d30494275ea9777df.jpg20191012_230423.thumb.jpg.71a88e411375f38a64fd47b65a18d08a.jpg20191012_230449.thumb.jpg.7c082093d07ee9a59d4286127bbee1de.jpg20191013_150351.thumb.jpg.628035b2604d3bab028ba3d55c04069f.jpg20191013_150503.thumb.jpg.c6892a1f1426c1c1822231f4deea3bab.jpg

The only restriction in mine is the dags from my cocky shit welds! ?

I'm a bit scared with how loud it will be with just a rear muffler. May have to put a resonator in it at some point. 

Thanks mate. I probably put a bit too much pressure on myself for a bloke who learnt to TIG off YouTube!

The sense of satisfaction at the end of this bloody long winded exercise from having done everything myself on this car will quickly overcome my self disappointment over a few shoddy welds!

Just have to keep pushing while the motivation bus is in town!

I’m up in Sydney for 3 days at the moment so missing a few nights in the shed after work because of that.  Hopefully got a few full days at the end of the week to finish off the exhaust. 

A few more bits and pieces done. 

I seem to be 2 steps forward one step back. I keep adding and changing stuff as I go...

The dump pipe was getting too long to feed down through the engine bay so I've added an extra v band in to make removal easier. 

20191017_142832.jpg

20191017_122347.jpg

20191017_121915.jpg

20191017_121905.jpg

20191013_155257.jpg

Got a few more sections of the exhaust done today.  The dump is almost connected to the cat which is he original part of the exhaust I made when it was still going to be twins.

Went and got a few sections of 3” stainless bead rolled to be used for the compressor side to intercooler and then on to the intake.

Had the compressor housing hose section machined off to allow fitment of a v band rather than a hose. Need to order in the 90 degree bend though as it’s some sort of weird v band size...

Got a start on the wastegate merge into the exhaust. Wow, that was a shit of a job cutting the pipe to fit the exhaust nicely. I just couldn’t get it perfect. With TIG you don’t get too many chances with crappy joins. Decided to just go with it and try to panel beat it into submission! God I wish I had a pipe notcher after that.....  Would have made it so much easier than all the cutting and grinding I did on it.  Took me  Hoooooouuuuurrrrrsssss!!  Started tigging it up using heaps of filler wire to bridge the shonky gaps!

Still a fair bit to do. Waiting on another flex joint (baffle style) as I wasn’t happy with the one I already had. It was way too big. It’s supposed to be 4” but the 4” tube was dick in a bucket. Way too big to be able to TIG. Even MIG would struggle to bridge the gap it was that far off. 

264A7638-B633-44D2-B964-616311BC7620.jpeg

14E2593F-6F79-4BD9-9817-29156ED572E5.jpeg

FAB61AD1-C4A0-475B-9782-FF5BE1D1E962.jpeg

7CB8E45C-2286-4137-8D61-043FB8703E42.jpeg

02C9B8B0-4494-4234-B29F-12328241DA93.jpeg

41E6C1F0-F6EC-4B91-B180-D48AF81FE860.jpeg

185AEC42-61B5-40C9-82B9-CCBA55F308ED.jpeg

42B01B32-5BF3-4898-838E-3A5C34E7D3C0.jpeg

7764EDD5-FD4D-47D0-83CF-EAAB2F419119.jpeg

A3769D87-4A65-4AE1-AC38-EB842722FC0F.jpeg

89F7BD8E-1EAB-48FF-B754-EF6FEFFE4E57.jpeg

Pretty much finished off the wastegate merge. Man what a mission I made that into.... I reckon i put 5 or 6 hours into that section alone ?  

Lucky I'm enjoying it! Such a sense of achievement each time I finish each section. 

20191019_221608.jpg

20191019_221634.jpg

20191019_212021.jpg

20191019_212001.jpg

20191019_221422.jpg

20191019_221418.jpg