SAU Community

Most Suitable r34 model for a GT-R Conversion

Hi all,

For anyone that has done or know for this kind of project, I was wondering what would be the most suitable r34 model to use as a base (money/difficulty wise) if you are going for an as close as possible to a gt-r swap.

More specifically, to run a 6 speed rb26 AWD.

Most parts will be swapped anyway but my main concern is, is it worth the cost of a gt-four since it's AWD already just so I don't have to cut and make room for the front diff plus any addional parts I may use for the AWD system? From what I know it uses 4.3 diffs compared to 4.1 that the gt-r uses so that will probably change anyway.

Basically my options are:

- gt-four for the fit ready awd chassis and whatever I can use from the drivetrain

- 25gt which is easier and cheaper to find but I will need the AWD drivetrain and cut/solder for that to fit.

I'm not a engineer so might some stuff sound stupid or I miss a lot of other things so feel free to add any comments.

Cheers,

My immediate reaction to these inquiries is always "It's just not viable". But.... I suppose now that values of 34 GTRs are stratospheric, the money (and the effort) spent to "GTR" convert a lesser 34 is going to be nowhere near the value of a GTR.

But, I do have to ask.....what's the point? The RB25Neo is just as capable, if not better than the 26 to make power from. Even if you put all the widebody panels on the car, it still won't be a real GTR. So.... why not just build up a GT-four?

On 16/6/2022 at 5:25 PM, GTSBoy said:

My immediate reaction to these inquiries is always "It's just not viable". But.... I suppose now that values of 34 GTRs are stratospheric, the money (and the effort) spent to "GTR" convert a lesser 34 is going to be nowhere near the value of a GTR.