SAU Community

how do i install this 3 port mac valve for boost control?

Hello everyone, i'm fairly new to the tuning/modifying scene and just picked up a r32 gtr. I purchased a 3 port mac valve for boost control and i have a haltech platinum pro ecu that i haven't installed yet. Right now, i have the intake plenum off as all my coolant lines are rotted so i replaced them with silicone hoses. I figured i'd get some other stuff out of the way, but i'm a little confused on the boost controller and where i should hook it up. 

I see diagrams on the web of people saying that i should connect it near the back of the engine for boost source. However, i still have the factory boost selonoid. Is it possible that i can just replace the factory one with the boost selenoid? 

And if so, which one is the in and which one is the out? 

IMG_3237.JPG

Don't install the MAC valve until you need it. The stock ECU wants the original boost control solenoid. It is possible to make the MAC do its job, but that's a f**karound that you'd just have to undo.

The stock boost control plumbing schema is readily visible in the factory service manual, which is easily downloaded. It picks up a boost signal from the plenum (I think, it's definitely upstream the throttles, anyway) and sends the boost signal on to the wastegate actuators.