SAU Community

What Have You Found To Be The Best Street Slicks?

gb33

i gotta buy new tyres for rego an thought since im dishing out money i may as well get tyres that dont spin everytime i hit boost. what have you guys found to be the best street slicks, an if you have any links to supplyers web pages?

there are known gotchas when using semi slicks on the street - buyer beware

you obviously have some issues if you are have that much traction issues - i suspect there are other issues

semi slicks are approved for American roads, not australian. may get away with it, maybe not? and absolutely no good for the wet

Edited by Pal

semi slicks are approved for American roads, not australian. may get away with it, maybe not? and absolutely no good for the wet

why are they no good for the wet? have you ever driven on some? what about wet weahter specific semi slicks? isnt the tread only in the tyres for wet weather driving anyway? im no tyre expert but ive driven an FC3S with wet weather specific bridgestone potenza 595 S something semislicks in the wet and they were mental

and also correct me if im wrong, but dont the lotus elise and or exige that are available as a road going vehicle in australia come out of the dealership with advan nevoa (not sure of the exact model) semi slicks?

Edited by james12

and also correct me if im wrong, but dont the lotus elise and or exige that are available as a road going vehicle in australia come out of the dealership with advan nevoa (not sure of the exact model) semi slicks?

yes they do, but that doesnt make them good in the wet :glare:

better off going for a tyre like the kuhmo ecsta

obviously this would be better in the "Suspension, braking and tyres " subforum :D

I used to drive around on semi's all day and every day.

they are legal for on the road as far as i'm aware, as they are dot approved,