SAU Community

How Many Kilometers to a Tank

Hi all,

Newbie here. Just picked up my Stagea RS260 last week. I'm low on the learning curve, but working on it, so please bear with me.

I'm trying to get an idea of the type of kilometers you R33 drivers get out of a tank. I'm in the States, so I'm doing a lot of conversions over here. From what I've read, I have an 80 liter tank. That equates to about 21 US gallons. When the trip meter reads about 400 kms, the low fuel light will come on. It takes a little over 16 US gallons or ~65 liters to fill the tank at that point. If I'm doing the math right, I'd expect that I could get about 500-520 kms out of a tank. I know that there are a lot of variables here (e.g. turbos, driving habits, tire size, etc.), but what do you all see out of a tank of gas? What do you all see from a kpl or mpg perspective? Thanks in advance.

-Kip

Practical max capacity of the tank is about 65l, not 80l. Workshop manual says it is 72l but I've never got more than about 65 in.  Manual also says lamp comes on at 13l remaining

Stageas are pretty thirsty between their weight and old school turbo engine. I get about 13l/100 (noting mine is pretty modified including cams) on mostly highway driving, which is about line ball with our 5.6l Titan.

BTW, thanks for converting to metric to give our brains a chance

Hah, the best I've seen in my wagon and RB25 is 11.3l/100km or 20.8mpg and that was pretty much highway only. In the city it's around 17l/100km or 13.8mpg.

What I find interesting and didn't expect is that having fun and boosting it doesn't make much of a difference to the fuel consumption. Like doing a run through the twisties and it stays pretty much at highway levels. It's the start and stop city driving that kills it. Of course my driving is 90% city. Would rather be delivering tofu in the mountains but oh well.

• Like 1