SAU Community

Dose/Stutu/Flutter

When I imported my R33 it had some turbo flutter. I always loved that sound and associated it with Skylines. I took the car to a shop, they looked it over, and one of their biggest recommendations was to take the block off the blow off and stop it from making the noise. We did so, car feels "better" but I think that's because the car was also just running on wastegate pressure and now it isn't. I'm just trying to get a consensus of how bad this is for the turbo? Seems like every video I watch has opposing opinions. Can't get a solid answer. Motive says one thing, TRC says another, MCM says something else, MCM2 says another. If it's not going to kill the turbo I'm going to bring back the dose. If it is then I'll stick with the pshhh instead. I'm just totally new to turbo cars. I'm happy either direction, but somewhere deep in my soul I'm itching for that sweet stututu.

Video is the day I brought the car home, and how it sounded then. 

6 minutes ago, Kinkstaah said:

I mean it doesn't necessarily instantly kill the turbo.

But there is a reason the people who made the turbo even made a blow off/recirculation valve. There is a reason all? turbos in any performance car have these valves.

Ultimate turbo performance car doesn't have one. (vl turbo)

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

57 minutes ago, mosquitocoils said:

I've never known nor do I claim to know. However I am building my Stagea specifically so it can dose and be as loud and obnoxious as possible...

???

Your doing it wrong then need to get a harley to be loud and obnoxious like @mlr ?

• Haha 2

2 hours ago, robbo_rb180 said:

Your doing it wrong then need to get a harley to be loud and obnoxious like @mlr ?

Oh man that's quite ironic, I actually swapped my straight piped de-restricted Kawasaki ER6N for my Stagea... My ears definitely thanked me for that trade!!